Advisory & Nominating Committee

The Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame Board of Directors/Selection Committee is charged with the responsibility of supervising the Hall of Fame organization and making the biennial selection of inductees.  Included on this special committee are representatives from the medical, dental, nursing, healthcare administration, pharmaceutical, public health and academic communities.

George C. Smith, Sr., MD
Family Practice Physician

Dennis M. Stanard, MA

E. Chandler Bramlett, FACHE

Retired CEO, Infirmary Health System

Kenneth E. Brewington, MD
Retired Physician

Byron Green, MD
Retired Physician
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Doreen Harper, PhD
Dean UAB School of Nursing

Christy Harris Lemak, PhD, FACHE
Professor and Chair, Health Services Administration, UAB School of Health Professions

Max Michael III, MD
Professor, Health Care Organization and Policy, UAB School of Public Health

Arlene H. Morris, RN, MSN, EdD
Professor of Nursing, Auburn, Montgomery

Richard E. Powers, MD
Medical Director for Behavioral Health

Zack Studstill, DMD
Executive Director Alabama Dentist Association

Charles Thomas, RPH, FAPhA
State Pharmacy Director, Retired
Alabama Department of Public Health

Betty Vaughan, MD
Public Health Physician, Retired

Charlotte Wynn, CRNP

Kenneth Yohn, MD
Retired Physician

Emeritus Members
Donald M. Ball*
Rachel Z. Booth, PhD*
Neil E. Christopher, MD
Joseph O. Dean Jr., PhD, RPh
Wayne H. Finley, MD, PhD
Juanzetta Flowers, DSN
Carl A. Grote Jr., MD
Leon Hamrick Sr., MD*
Ruth Harrell, RN
Elizabeth Barker Morris, RN
Ira L. Myers, MD*
D.O. McClusky*
Louis C. Wilson, MD

Ex-Officio Members
Tim Pennycuff
Alan Hartley, CPA
Carol Mitchell, Noland Health

* deceased

For additional information regarding nominations or information about becoming a corporate or private supporter, please contact the President of the AHHOF:

Dennis M. Stanard, President
600 Corporate Parkway, Suite 125
Birmingham, AL 35242

Dr. Charles (Scotty) McCallum was an oral and maxillofacial surgeon at UAB.  He served as Dean of the University of Alabama's School of Dentistry and in 1987 became the third President of UAB.  Dr. McCallum was known for his great professional ability, empathy for students and warm personality.